An Integrated EU policy for the Arctic – Frequently Asked Questions

The High Representative and the European Commission set out an integrated response to the challenges of the Arctic.

1. What is the Arctic region?
While various definitions for the Arctic exist, in the Joint Communication the notion “Arctic region” covers the area around the North Pole, north of the Arctic Circle (latitude 66 degrees, 32 minutes North). It includes the Arctic Ocean and territories of the eight Arctic States: Canada, the Kingdom of Denmark (including Greenland and the Faroe Islands), Finland, Iceland, Norway, the Russian Federation, Sweden and the United States of America.

2. Why is the Arctic relevant to the EU?
Though the European Union has no direct coastline with the Arctic Ocean, it is inextricably linked to the Arctic. We share historical, economic, trade and geographical links, whilst a number of existing EU activities, funding, projects and decisions are already having an impact on the region’s sustainable development.

Click here to read more.

Leave a Reply

Please Answer: *